Jon Cranfield

Hanna Combo finally arrives!

In Garden pond, Observations, the big pond thaw survey 2011, the garden pond blog, Wildlife on February 11, 2011 at 6:16 pm

I have recently purchased a pH/Conductivity Meter as suggested by Pond Conservation. The meter enables a measurement of how much ‘pollution’ or ‘nutrients’ are within ponds which I visit. I have tested my garden pond and I plan to visit several water bodies around the town to see each of them compare. The river in our town is a chalk stream – assumed to be in pristine condition. However I feel that the meter will tell a different story.

Creating ponds according to Jeremy Biggs from pond Conservation is the best way to bring back clean water habitats to our countryside. I have a very clean pond in my garden and I hope to create more as a result of my volunteer and professional work with amphibians. See the photo of the meter

Leave a Reply

