Jon Cranfield

Water continues to decrease

In Uncategorized on August 20, 2010 at 9:08 am

My small pond is definitely acting as a ‘temporary pond’ its losing depth nearly every day – so should I be worried? well the pond is small so the effect of evaporation I think I am right in saying will be much more noticeable.  I have managed to build a pond which is a microcosm of a pond cluster as the water draws down leaving exposed substrate small pools will be created as I pushed the soil and clay down in the base of the pond and around its shallows to create effectively small pools. I am hoping that enough rain will come over the winter to refill the pond to its winter level.

I have taken a lot of inspiration from Pond Conservation – the garden pond blog, million ponds project info and the training courses I have attended this year and workshops at the Herpetofauna Workers’ Meeting  (HWM).  Its a new thing having a pond which dries up – people always say ‘you better put a hose on that pond’ or ‘you won’t be able to have fish in there’ – which is great because it gives me a chance to explain what the pond is and how it is for wildlife – particularly garden wildlife. I am confident that frogs will find the pond next spring or maybe the following spring. I want to add plants to the pond and maybe local animals which is the natural urge for a garden pond owner….

Leave a Reply

