Jon Cranfield

TDS (total dissolved solids)

In Uncategorized on August 18, 2010 at 9:40 am

I am planning to buy a new conductivity meter to measure the amount of ‘pollution’ within ponds that I will be surveying in the future. I have a TDS meter which I previously used for my marine fish tank – its uses ‘conductivity’ to determine a TDS reading in parts per million (ppm). I used to produce Reverse Osmosis Treated water to make up fresh salt water required to maintain a marine aquarium.

The readings I needed to get to make tap water safe was 0 ppm though this process wasted a lot of water up to 4 times the amount produced for the aquarium. I fear that using RO water would make very clean (I assume) water available to a new garden pond though I think the environmental cost would be too great. The next best thing is to use rainwater collected off my garage roof and into a large water butt fashioned from a large fruit juice concentrate barrel. The creation of ‘clean water’ ponds is important to provide the best conditions for pond wildlife. Pond Conservation use conductivity meters as a proxy measure of the amount of nutrients or pollutants within a pond. I think that the TDS meter can be also be used to provide a similar measurement (until I can get hold of a conductivity meter).

I took a reading of my garden pond water and you can see that it is 67ppm which I think is favourable compared to tap water which has a reading of 280ppm.

A conversion of these figures to micro siemens per cm – Tap water438 microS/cm – Pond water – 105microS/cm – I hope that this shows that the pond is reasonably clean

Leave a Reply

